Basic Rider Course-U

Killeen, Copperas Cove, Temple, Gatesville, Belton, Harker Heights, Lampasas, Nolanville, Kempner, and all of Central Texas!

The BRC-U, the Basic Rider Course-Updated, is the curriculum established by the Motorcycle Safety Foundation, and is a course required to obtain a motorcycle license (Class M) in the state of Texas.  This course is designed with the beginner in mind by providing helpful student participation and interaction. This curriculum better serves the varied learning styles of the students who are just learning to ride; while also benefitting the experienced rider. 

   *Prior to the BRC-U start date, each student is required to complete an MSF On-Line E-COURSE module. This module will take approximately 5-6 hours to complete: and when completed, a Certificate of Completion will be generated. The date on the certificate must be within 30 days of the first day of the BRCU, and a PRINTED COPY of the Certificate must be presented to the instructor on DAY 1 of the class.  Screen shots will not be accepted

**After registering for the course, be sure to check your confirmation email for the E-COURSE link.  This link will take you to the E-COURSE site, and allow you to take the E-COURSE with no additional cost to you.   If the site asks you to pay, you are in the wrong place!

*Please call (254) 526-7800 ASAP if you do not receive your confirmation email or for more information.

The BRCU Rider Handbook is now available to the general public and is located on Amazon Kindle.  Although it is not necessary for the course, if you'd like to purchase it so you may study it, you may do so here. : motorcycle safety foundation basic rider course rider handbook

**Students 15 years to 17 years who do not currently hold a Driver's License :

  • Applicants must be at least 15 years of age and, after completing the course successfully, will be restricted to operating a motorcycle with no more than a 250 cubic centimeter piston displacement. This restriction can be removed on the applicants 16th birthday.
  • To apply for a Class M license, a minor must:
    • Have a Class C learner license and have completed the 32 hour classroom phase of a driver education course; or

    • Present a certificate of completion of the classroom phase (32 hours) of a driver education course (the behind the wheel portion of the driver education course is not required to take the motorcycle safety course or to apply for a Class M license; or
    • Have a provisional driver license.

**First time drivers 18-24 must complete 6 hours of an approved Driver’s Education Course in order to receive a ADE-1317.

  •  Present the ADE-1317 to the instructor on the first day of class  (What is ADE-1317 certificate?
    The ADE-1317 drivers ed certificate certifies that you have completed a TDLR (Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation) approved Texas adult drivers education course and have passed the written exam.)



This course may provide a waiver to the riding portion of the Texas Motorcycle License test.

PLEASE NOTE: A class MAY cancel if enough students do not enroll for a particular date, and ALL times are approximate EXCEPT
for the initial class start time.

Basic Rider Course-U $235 *$225 for Active Duty Military, Law Enforcement, Fire Fighters, and other First Responders (Call for Promotion Code to receive discount: 254-526-7800) 2 DAY SCHEDULE - Day 1 - 6:30 am - 2:30pm Day 2 - 6:30 am - 1:30 pm (Beginning time may vary with daylight savings time, temperatures and/or weather. Ending time will vary depending on the needs of each class). NOTE: Students must provide their own Riding Gear. * Jeans, * long sleeved shirt, * full finger gloves, * boots that cover the ankle, and * D.O.T. approved helmet (w/shield, goggles or glasses) are required. Students will not be permitted to ride without the proper gear. Personal motorcycles may be used in the course, but must pass inspection by TMS (at the dealership) at least 2 days prior to the first class day. (call for more info) Motorcycles in the BRC must generally be 250cc or smaller. Scooters may also be used with prior approval. Personal bikes used in the course must be able to show proof of Current Registration and Insurance. Refund Policy * If you must cancel/reschedule a class for any reason, you must do so at least 7 days before the start date of your class. No refund or credit will be given within the final week of the class. * Students will be removed from the course if the student's riding performance creates an unmanageable danger. * Retests or refunds for persons failing or being dismissed from the course are at the discretion of the school. * You must be successful on the final Skill Evaluation to pass the BRCU .